Feel it. Acknowledge it. Accept it. Manage it.

Standard

As of late I have read so much hoop-lah and lah-di-dah about “be happy”, “let your inner light shine through”; “if you want to be happy change something, if you aren’t and don’t want to be continue what you are doing”.

Well this is a whole lot of bullshit. Yes, BULL SHIT!! I’m sorry, but sometimes there is a need to let things run their course.

If you are unhappy or depressed (feeling blue), then dammit, let it run its course. Don’t fight it like a Matador in a bull fight, you will lose; you will tire and it will overpower you.

NOW!!!!!….hear me on this, not ALL situations are the same. Don’t get me wrong. There are those of us out there who fight depression and unhappiness regularly and it has become a chronic thing for us….im not FULLY talking to you. But even if you are one who falls into this category, hear me out, please.

Depression is not a disease in the manner of viral or bacterial. Depression is a Dis-Ease within the body, between the body and the soul/spirit. (yes yes, there are all those wonderful medical tags and things that go with it. Neuro receptor this, and chemical imbalance that…..but I’m not talking from a medical view point) Depression, unhappiness, or “feeling blue” is not always a pleasant feeling, but neither is it a bad one. What it really can be seen as is a sign, a signal, the way your body communicates with you that there is something wrong, that Spirit is imbalanced and needs some attention. It is only a feeling, a dis-ease within you, a discomfort that you must figure out how to handle without letting it handle you. I’m not talking out of my ass here guys, I’m speaking from experience….I’m speaking from a state of UTTER Dis-EASE at this very moment.

Yes, I do suffer from depression. It affects me quite often and just as differently to you as yours may be to me. My depression/low feelings come in seasons; instigated by situations; by not taking care of me; allowing myself to become too stressed and the like; it is even brought on by some of my past memories and sufferings that I still have not been able to come to terms with. They come and go; and when they are here, boy do they hit me hard. But sitting here trying to fight the feelings is almost nauseating. I would prefer to be “in the moment”. I know I don’t WANT to feel this pain and discomfort, but in order for it to pass I must ride it out. To fight it, to question why?, what?, when?, will do NOTHING to help me get through it. All the questioning and fighting does is make it last longer, prolongs the “episode”.

Honestly, I feel the best way to deal with or handle such episodes is not to question how to stop it, or why am I feeling it….but to question what am I feeling. Physically. Mentally. Emotionally. Note how you feel, literally. Note what thoughts are present when each of these feelings show up. The best ways to combat Depression/Unhappiness/Feeling Blue/Feeling Down is to understand what triggers it and how you and your body reacts. There is no reason in trying to fight it off with some version of “band-aid in a pill”**. If you need to sleep, then sleep. If you need to cry, then cry. Just understand when you have reached the level of too much, or reached the unhealthy level so that you can figure out what path you want to take to correct this imbalance, whether that be mainstream methods or the more natural, holistic, organic methods.

YES…there is an imbalance when you feel this way; whether it be chemical imbalance in your brain or one in the body period; or whether it is simply an imbalance within your heart and soul. There is an imbalance and the balance needs to be brought back into equilibrium. Find your way of “handling” it or managing the discomfort, but PLEASE DO NOT ignore the episode or act as if there is nothing wrong. This is the worst thing to do. Feel it. Note it. Accept it. Manage it. By ignoring it or trying to suppress the fact that you KNOW you are feeling down is unhealthy. All you are doing is caging a wild animal. One day, one day it will break your barriers, your walls, your cages and it will be ultimately bigger than it would have been had you felt it, noted it, accepted it and managed it when each episode came around.

** I do not advocate that you stop taking or not look into taking anti-depressants or anti-anxiety pill….they ARE of GREAT use to those who truly need them, and yes…I’ve been on them in my past

Leave a comment